National Parks

The Byron Bay Hinterland is surrounded by stunning natural beauty such as Minyon Falls, Whian Whian Forest, Rocky Creek Dam, Nightcap Ranges, Border Ranges & Mount Warning.

A number of the parks in the region are members of the World Heritage Listed Central Eastern Rainforest Reserves. One of the most notable in the area is the Mount Warning National Park which is the remnant central plug of an ancient volcano. Now eroded down to half its original height, the 1100-m-high Mount Warning offers a fantastic walk to the summit through rainforest communities, with a challenging final rock scramble rewarding you with 360° views of the bowl-shaped Tweed Valley.

Parks situated within the Northern Rivers region include:

  • Boatharbour Nature Res.
  • Border Ranges National Park
  • Broadwater National Park
  • Broken Head Nature Reserve
  • Brunswick Heads Nat. Res.
  • Bundjalung National Park
  • Cape Byron State Rec. Area
  • Chaelundi National Park
  • Cudgen Nature Reserve
  • Iluka Nature Reserve
  • Koreelah National Park
  • Mallanganee National Park
  • Mebbin National Park
  • Mooball National Park
  • Moore Park Nature Reserve
  • Mt Jerusalem National Park
  • Mount Warning Nat. Park
  • Nightcap National Park
  • Nymboida National Park
  • Richmond Range Nat. Park
  • Solitary Islands Marine Park
  • Tooloom National Park
  • Toonumbar National Park
  • Tweed Heads Historic Site
  • Tyagarah Nature Reserve
  • Victoria Park Nature Res.
  • Wilson Nature Reserve
  • Yuraygir National Park